Project Description

Brahms had actually planned to give up composing after completing his second string quintet, which had the significant opus number 111. But then he met Richard Mühlfeld, a clarinettist from Meiningen, and out came the music manuscript paper again: the results of this fortunate change of heart were a trio and a quintet, the two clarinet sonatas op. 120, and also the last cycle of notable piano pieces and the Four Serious Songs. In between the pair of sonatas op 120 in the present production comes the clarinet sonata op 84 by the Austrian emigrant Hans Gál (1890-1987). Gál had studied in Vienna under Eusebius Mandyczewski, a friend and pupil of Brahms, and had, throughout his long life, remained convinced of the lasting value of tonality – a view that comes across clearly in this 1965 work.


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Sonate für Klarinette und Klavier f-moll op. 120 Nr. 1
01 1. Allegro appassionato
02 2. Andante un poco adagio
03 3. Allegretto grazioso
04 4. Finale: Vivace

Hans Gál (1890-1987)
Sonate für Klarinette und Klavier op. 84 (1965)
05 1. Allegro moderato
06 2. Andantino
07 3. Adagio – Allegro con spirito

Johannes Brahms
Sonate für Klarinette und Klavier Es-Dur op. 120 Nr. 2
08 1. Allegro amabile
09 2. Allegro appassionato – Sostenuto – Tempo 1
10 3. Andante con moto – Allegro

TT 64:03


Hans Dietrich Klaus, Clarinet
Nerine Barrett, Piano


»Ein delikater Deklamationsstil und technischer Feinschliff zeichnen auch die CD des Klarinettisten Hans Dietrich Klaus und der Pianistin Nerine Barrett bei den Sonaten von Brahms und Hans Gál aus.« Berliner Tagesspiegel, 12.8.1999

»Die schon oft eingespielten Klarinettensonaten von Johannes Brahms werden hier sehr einfühlsam und passend kombiniert mit der eher unbekannten von Hans Gál, sehr durchdacht interpretiert …« Fono Forum, 10/1999